# Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Dunedin U3A Charitable Trust held at Salmond College on Thursday 14 February 2019 at 11 a.m.

Present: Alan Jackson (Chair) 56 members and 1 guest

Apologies: Ash Pennell, Jill Geary, Bruce Cathro, John & Anna Holmes, Jude Hathaway, Elizabeth Cleverly, Robin Aitken, Wallace Keown, Ann McGregor, Sandra Goodchild, Lesley & Ashley Day, Margaret MacCormick, John & Christine Burton, Nisha Sutherland, Peter & Prue Gilbert, Margaret Favell, David Bishop, Maryalice Reed, Annette Riley, Ken Drew, Julia & Andi Maltisoo, Ann Barsby, Alison Wadsworth, Stephen Baird, Rob Johnston Maureen Smith, Lesley Day, Noeline Knopp, Kathy Mayo, Alison Tofield, Nick Dempster, Allison Mulder, John Shanks, Leah Taylor, Jan Richards, Catherine McGrath, Polly Higham, Gabrielle Monti-Sheeham, Di Best & Kit Bunker, Anne Charlotte, Jeanette Leigh, Noelene Evans, Denise Montgomery, Denise Hesson, Jane Anderson, Karen Preece, Bill Stafford, Barbara Holborrow.

**Received** Alan Jackson/ Denise Harger

#### **Minutes:**

The Minutes of the AGM held at OGC on 31May 2018 (previously circulated to all attendees)

**Confirmed** Heather Hay/Denise Harger

# **Matters Arising.**

There were none.

The Report from The Chair: (previously circulated to all attendees) was read in full.

The adoption confirmed Alan Jackson/Matt Harger Carried unanimously

# **Financial Report from the Treasurer**

Evan Taylor spoke to his financial summary (which along with detailed Profit & Loss and Balance sheet was previously available to all attendees)

The surplus for the year 2018 was \$1789 compared with \$12155 for the year 2017.

The reason for the difference was that Donations of \$10500 were made to presenters (University Departments) in 2018

Membership numbers continue to grow – is now 901 which means more Subs income.

The total Assets are ANZ Current A/c \$5624

ANZ Term Deposit 1 \$21200 ANZ Term Deposit 2 \$32086 ANZ Term Deposit 3 \$55000 **Total Bank** \$113910

The Chair, in his report outlined the decision to make a Gift of \$50,000 to the Otago University which will come from these reserves and a further \$20,000 is planned for a gift to a community project. As a result, the Trust Funds will be substantially reduced but will remain at a level which is more appropriate to Dunedin U3A's needs.

Like so many organisations nowadays, the Trust depends on many Members to contribute to ensure its continuing success. The latest example is Board Member Alistair Wright's P.A., Kaye Scholten who does a huge amount of work with subs and course processing for which we sincerely thank her.

There followed some questions of clarification from the floor of amounts in the Profit & Loss Statement for the 12 months ending 31 December 2018 which the Treasurer answered.

The Review of the 2018 Financial Statements will be completed before 31 March 2019

# The Treasurer moved the acceptance of his report subject to the review. Carried Evan Taylor/Doug Holborow

### Election of the Dunedin U3A Board for 2019-2020

### Nominations are:

Geoffrey Adams	Ngaire Bates	Jill Geary
Jane Johnson	Jude Hathaway	Doug Holborow
Alan Jackson	Rob Lawson	Jeanette Leigh
Barrie Peake	Marion Potter	Stuart Strachan
Evan Taylor	Alistair Wright	

Elaine Webster will be the University Representative. John Shanks, the Board's Webmaster is a Board member ex officio.

With no further nominations, these were duly elected.

### **Other Business**

Barrie Peake (Chair of Programme Committee) raised the issue of developing individual lectures to which the public may be invited. This arose from a communication from Sharon Curzons (Communication Manager Universities NZ) offering the possibility of an address to Dunedin U3A from the Chief Executive Universities NZ.

This will be investigated further.

### The meeting closed at 11.51am

The meeting closed at 11:50 and adjourned for the buffet luncheon to be served.